Browne State Forest

The 129 acre Browne State Forest, located in Essex County in the coastal plain of Virginia, is 10 miles southeast of Tappahannock, 45 miles northeast of Richmond, and 65 miles northwest of Newport News. All State Forests are managed by the Virginia Department of Forestry (VDOF) for multiple-use purposes, including watershed protection, recreation, timber production, hunting, fishing, and applied forest research.

Use Permit | Parking/Hours | Recreation | Map | Regulations

Forest Features

  • Lat-Long: 37° 47’ 25.4”, 76° 46’ 49.7”

State Forest Use Permit

A State Forest Use Permit may be required for visitors to the state forests.

Parking/Hours of Operation

  • Open daily from dawn to dusk.
  • Email the forest personnel.

Recreation Opportunities

All Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)

Motorized vehicles of any type are prohibited on all of the state forests.

Hiking

There is one primary dead end road in the forest. This is open for walking, hiking, and mountain bikes. All motorized vehicles are prohibited on state forest lands. This forest road is gated. The adjacent Middle Peninsula Chesapeake Bay Public Access Authority (804.758.2311) also allows walking and hiking.

Travelers hike through harvested areas that have either been replanted or protected so that nature is allowed to take its course.

Foot travel, and non-motorized bikes are permitted.

Trail Rules

  • Be courteous to other trail users. Hikers should yield the right of way to equestrians. Bikers should yield to hikers and equestrians.
  • Please help us keep the trail clean.
  • Stay on the marked trail at all times.
  • Be extremely cautious at road crossings. Stop, look and listen, and then proceed only if you are sure it is safe to do so.

Hunting

Hunting is permitted on the Browne State Forest. All persons, except those legally exempt under Virginia law, must carry a valid Virginia hunting license AND a State Forest Use Permit ($16 per year) to hunt or trap on the forest.

State Forest hunting regulations and seasons follow those of the county in which the State Forest is located. Check the Virginia Department Of Game and Inland Fisheries (DGIF) Hunting & Trapping Regulations and Information for special restrictions on State Forest lands, such as Either-Sex Deer Hunting Days.

Hunting is allowed on most of the forest, however, hunting is prohibited in the following safety zones (surrounding areas of):

  • Fire tower.

Hunting is also permitted on the adjacent Middle Peninsula Chesapeake Bay Public Access Authority. For information and registration, contact them at 804.758.2311.

Wear blaze orange during hunting season.

Hunter's Map (PDF format)

Map and Directions

Map and Directions to the forest.

State Forest Regulations

To ensure your safety, read our complete state forest regulations before visiting a forest.

  • No removal of any tree, plant or mineral.
  • Remove all trash.
  • Motorized vehicles of any type are prohibited
  • No camping or public display of alcohol.
  • No fireworks, campfires or open air fires of any type.
  • Lawful firearms are permitted.
  • Hunting is permitted with a valid State Forest Use Permit and valid hunting license in accordance with state hunting regulations.
  • Fishing in designated areas only in accordance with state fishing regulations.
  • Gasoline motorized boats are not permitted.
  • Vehicular traffic on established roads only; not permitted on gated roads.

Last modified: Tuesday, 31-Mar-2015 09:38:38 EDT