Recognizing Virginia Public Service Professionals, May 3-9, 2020

May 5, 2020 10:45 am

from Hector Rivera, VDOF’s Director of Human Resources

For many, the beginning of May is a period of both anticipation and celebration – whether we’re counting down to summer break, celebrating high school or college graduation, or honoring the beautiful mothers in our lives.

And for more than three decades, the first week of May has also marked a time to officially recognize the dedicated professionals engaged in public service across the Commonwealth – during May 3 – 9, 2020 we are celebrating the Virginia Public Service Week. This year, more than ever, our committed workforce has endured unprecedented demands to serve, support and adapt in unfamiliar or continually-changing operating environments during the COVID-19 crisis.

Normally, we’d celebrate this week with an employee recognition day. These plans have been delayed until later this summer; but we don’t want to miss this opportunity to acknowledge the employees who have served the Virginia Department of Forestry (VDOF), some for several decades.

Beyond one and three years of service, we recognize employees in five-year increments. This year, we are joyful to celebrate more than 1,000 years of combined public service by our teammates attaining their respective service milestones (between one and 40 years) as of April 30, 2020.

Even in these unprecedented and challenging times, May continues to be a period of anticipation and celebration. We optimistically look forward to honoring our employees in-person later this summer, though the VDOF team will remain flexible and adaptable to whatever these next months bring our way.

We hope you’ll join us now in acknowledging the VDOF teammates who have served 25 years or more:

The 2020 Service Awards Recipients are:

40 Years
Fred Turck
Joseph Lehnen
Carl Belew
David Queen
James Blackwell
Warren Coburn
Junius Miles

35 Years
Daniel Fortune
Bernard Brooks
Charlene Bardon
David Tolliver
William Shumaker

30 Years
Stephen Morris
Brian Ledford
Tammy Ingle

25 Years
Pat Murphy
Steven Coleman
Jay Bassett
Michael Womack

(Header photo: Service awards for employees with 25+ years of service held in Richmond 05/09/2019.)